Rugby League (Issue 3 2017)

Written on the 31 May 2017

Hearts U18 Rugby League State Champions 2017

In 2017, Sacred Heart College entered a team into the Under 18 Rugby League State Carnival for the first time. In Round 1, on Thursday 16 March, Sacred Heart won both their matches when they defeated both Murray Bridge High and Wirreanda High.

In Round 2, on Wednesday 29 March, Sacred Heart became the Southern Division champions when they drew with Wirreanda High and defeated Christies Beach High.

In Term 2, there was a play-off with the Southern Division against the winners of Northern Division. On Friday 5 May, Sacred Heart defeated Golden Grove High to set them up against Windsor 

Gardens High in the grand final. The grand final was a close and exciting match with Sacred Heart College emerging as winners 28 -14. Malachy Lynch was man of the match and Chandler Nelson-Edwards took out player of the tournament. A big thank you to David Tyrell, who was the coach of the Sacred Heart College side. And congratulations to all the players in the team. It is 

always impressive when a team can go through a competition undefeated.

2017 Rugby League Championship Team

Kareem Aitken
Harry Ashby
Tom Clemow
Jake Foster
Joshua Furler
Ethan Gardner
Ben Gilmore
Fynn Hutchinson
Oliver Jones  
Marcus Keenan 
Malachy Lynch
Jack McAuliffe
Chandler Nelson-Edwards
Tyson Newchurch
Max Priestly
Connor Read
Jayden Scarce
Kyle Scott 
Rashaun Stephenson-Stuart
Will Stockman
Frank Szekely
Matt Tee
Cooper Van Doorn
Nick Walkington
Joe Wiggett
Christian Wright

James Grant


Go back

Connect with Us

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint