The Australian Curriculum: An overview for parents (Issue 2 2017)

Written on the 22 February 2017

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.

What are the learning areas of the Australian Curriculum?
From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages.

In our Catholic schools, all curriculum areas have a religious dimension and Religious Education is taught as a core curriculum area. 

To find specific information about the Australian Curriculum for your child's year level click on the information sheets below.

Information for parents years 5 - 6

Information for parents years 7 - 8

Information for parents years 9 - 10

For more information, please visit the Federation of Catholic School Parent Communities' website at



Go back

Connect with Us

Bookmark SiteTell a FriendPrint