Middle & Senior School (08) 8350 2500

Middle & senior school absentees (08) 8350 2594


Marymount (08) 8179 4400

Marymount Absentees (08) 8179 4400

From the Head of Senior School (Issue 16 2017)

Written on the 26 October 2017

The completion of the Year 12 academic year has arrived!

The next few weeks brings the finalisation of the academic requirements for each Stage 2 course. Many students will be facing examinations while others are submitting their final external assessment task(s) for submission.

We wish our Year 12 students every success and are confident that they have been given many opportunities to achieve the successes they aspire to.

Year 12 Graduation Mass
The Graduation Mass is the key graduation event for the graduating class of 2017. Many thanks to Year 12 students and their families for being part of this wonderful occasion last night.

Year 12 Graduation Assembly
Today we celebrate the achievements of the graduating class with a Graduation Assembly. Congratulations to the following students.

2017 Winners of Academic Excellence Awards for Stage 2 subjects
The next few weeks will be filled with final examinations and moderation of student work and it is these processes which will determine each student's final mark in each of their Year 12 subjects. Despite not knowing final results, each year we take the opportunity at the Graduation Assembly to acknowledge the outstanding work of the following awardees.

Jazmyne ARRIOLA Food and Hospitality
Matthew ATKINSON General Mathematics
Finn BETTERMAN Physical Education
Nicole BLAZINCIC Integrated Learning (Sport & Fitness)
Joel BROADWAY Nutrition
Aimee BROUGHAM Tourism
Christopher BUERSCH Accounting
Tristan CAMILLERI (Yr 11) Japanese (Continuers)
Shaunah CLARKE Psychology
Kerry COLLINS Community Studies A
Kayley COLLINS Information Processing & Publishing
Matilda CROSSMAN Research Project
Maddison FITZPATRICK Essential Mathematics
Stella FRANKLIN Music (Solo Performance)
Alice FRY English
Shannon GOUGH Drama
Thomas John GREAR Workplace Practices (includes VET)
Georgia HARRIS Legal Studies
Samuel HARRIS Music (Music Technology)
Bailey HINTER Community Studies B (Trade Skills Maths)
Annie HUNTER Integrated Learning (Food & Hospitality)
Jaeli HUNTER Dance
Justin KASCAK Music (Ensemble Performance)
Annie KELLOCK Creative Arts (Photography)
Jesse KENNEDY (Yr 11) Italian (Continuers)
Faye LAYLAND Geography
Danielle PARRISH Essential English
Emilka RUSTECKA Visual Arts (Design)
William SHANKS (Yr 11) Communication Products (Web Design)
Daniel SHORE System & Control Products
Fletcher SYMONDS Economics
Sean TAYLOR Physics
Jenny THOMSON Child Studies
Alexander CRUZ Music (Individual Study) and Visual Arts (Art)
Jack HONNER Business & Enterprise and Material Products (Furniture Construction)
Sheridan NIEKEL Health and Scientific Studies
Sophie TORMENA Aboriginal Studies and Society & Culture
Mariana COUTO MONIZ Specialist Mathematics, Mathematical Methods and Chemistry
Samantha MYLAN Biology, Classical Studies and English Literary Studies

2017 Significant Awards
In addition, each year we present a wide variety of significant awards that are sponsored by families, benefactors and organisations. These awards have special meaning to the College as they remind us of the long-standing connections we have with past students, past staff members and their families. We are reminded of the friendships we have had with people who have studied or worked at the College, and we are reminded that being part of the Sacred Heart community doesn't last for just the few years that we are here, but for a lifetime.

Congratulations to the following students:

The Corey Fitzgerald Memorial Tennis Award Joel BROADWAY
Sam Climpson-Stewart Memorial Trophy Wilson OTTO
The Zac Davy History Prize Tristan SPRUMONT
Peter Norton Prize for Chemistry Mariana COUTO MONIZ
The Debourg Arts Award Aisling McCORRY-JENKINSON
Hearts Sportsman Award & Hearts Sportswoman Award Sophie AGOSTINO and Patrick GOODWIN
The ADF Long Tan Leadership and Teamwork Award Austin EDWARDS
The Order of Australia Student Citizenship Award Austin EDWARDS and Luke WORMALD
Archbishop Wilson's Award for Excellence Paulina MALYCHA and Liam BYRNE
Brother Romulus Award for Academic Excellence Mariana COUTO MONIZ
The Marist Spirit Award Austin EDWARDS
Principal's Awards Alice FRY, Alexander BURROW, Olivia MORONEY and Georgia HARRIS
Champagnat Award Cara McGLAUGHLIN

Handover of Student Leadership
The handover of student leadership occurred at today's Graduation Assembly. We congratulated the outgoing leaders and in particular, the outgoing College Captains, Gemma Thomas and Luke Wormald. The following Year 12 student leaders were inducted into their roles.

2018 Year 12 Student Leadership Team  
School Captains Josh Lloyd and Maggie McKay
Head Boarders Sam McCabe and Maggie Noonan
Sports Captains Liam Wisdom and Alice Priestly
Arts Captains Bailey Barnes and Kara Manansala
Mission Captains Matthew Murray and Alyssa Sedunary
Year 12 House Captains and Deputy House Captains  
Chanel House Captains Will Shanks and Charlotte Beavis
Chanel Deputy House Captains Thomas Strudwick and Remee Agars
Chavoin House Captains Tristan Camilleri and Izzy Ryles
Chavoin Deputy House Captains Ronan Fatt-Clifton and Bridget Morrissey                        
Fourviere House Captains Bailey Caire and Olivia Allen
Fourviere Deputy House Captains Austin McClure and Louise Palmer
Marian House Captains Gavin Regan and Ruby Fahey
Marian Deputy House Captains Tatenda Zembe and Noosa Bayliss
Montagne House Captains Lachlan Staker and Izzy O'Dea
Montagne Deputy House Captains Dominic Mayer and Elissa Francis

Stage 2 Examinations
Good luck to all Year 12 students who are undertaking external examinations over the next few weeks. The final examination is Geography, which occurs on Monday 20 November. I am sure that students will be feeling they have put their best efforts forward and are ready for a well-earned rest. In the meantime, I encourage all students to remain focused and in good health during the next few important weeks of school.

Gail Morgan
Head of Senior School



Go back

CRICOS Provider No. 00626K