Middle & Senior School (08) 8350 2500

Middle & senior school absentees (08) 8350 2594


Marymount (08) 8179 4400

Marymount Absentees (08) 8179 4400

From the Head of Senior School (Issue 18 2016)

Written on the 24 November 2016

I write to advise of a number of changes to staffing at the Senior School in readiness for 2017.

  • Mr Daniel Head, currently our Director of Marist Mission, has accepted a position as House Leader at Cabra College. Daniel has been an outstanding leader of our faith and charism and his wisdom and forthright approach will be sorely missed on our Campus Leadership Team. We wish Daniel well in his new role and hope to see him back at Sacred Heart in the not too distant future!
  • After 15 years of dedicated service to the families of Sacred Heart College, Mr John Kelly is retiring at the end of 2016. Like Daniel, John is a wonderful leader of our faith and our charism, and truly embodies the Marist characteristics of love of work, and family spirit. John is an outstanding educator and will be sorely missed, especially by our Debating Team - we wish John every happiness as he enters this next phase of life.
  • We also farewell Physics and Science Teacher, Mrs Katie List, Maths Teacher, Mr Peter Law, English Teacher, Ms Zara Zampaglione, and Curriculum Tutor, Ms Cerys Howson. Katie, Peter, Zara and Cerys have each added in their own way, to the family spirit of Sacred Heart College and we thank them for their professionalism, friendship, and dedication to our students, who under their care, have regularly achieved outstanding result. We wish Katie, Peter, Zara and Cerys every success for the future.

A number of other staff are taking various forms of leave during Term 1, 2017 and we wish them well for this time - Mr Angelo Pirone, Mrs Prue Wilkosz, Mr Tony Finamore, and Mr Michael Boers (first 5 weeks of Term 1). In addition, Mrs Amanda Byrne is taking leave for the full year, and Ms Irene Cirottola will be on leave for Semester 1.

As a result, please join me in welcoming a number of new staff to our community next year:

  • Mr James Gill will assume the position of Director of Marist Mission
  • Mr Shane Ryan (Physics and Mathematics)
  • Miss Bronwyn McLeod (English and RE)
  • Mrs Kathrine Rosenberg (Mathematics)
  • Mr Christopher Pittman (Music and RE)
  • Mr Graham Brine (Mathematics and Humanities)
  • Ms Michelle Beecham (Health and PE)
  • Mr Peter Oswald (Careers and Pathways Coordinator)
  • Ms Laura Wardleworth (Counsellor).

Of course, at this time of year, it is not uncommon for further staffing changes to occur. Our new staff for 2017 will be confirmed again at the beginning of next year.

After (a combined) 99 years of dedication to the pastoral care to the students and families of Sacred Heart, a number of Heads of House have determined that their time as a Head of House will conclude at the end of 2016. I pass on my thanks to Mr Damien Henry (4 years), Ms Sarah Melhuish (8 years), Mr Bryan McKeough (18 years), Mrs Irene Cirotolla (21 years), Mrs Ann Von Bujdoss (24 years), and Mrs Mary Wilkins (24 years).

I also take this opportunity to congratulate the following staff, who have been appointed to leadership positions within our new Pastoral Care structure, commencing in 2017:

Heads of House                                  Assistant Heads of House
Mr Michael Boers                                 Ms Ali Trewartha
Mr Luke Hildyard                                  Ms Alicia Sampson
Mrs Helen McCarthy                            Mrs Samantha Savage
Mrs Shannon Jones                             Mr Garreth Hutton
Mr Robert Gill                                        Mrs Alex Penhall

Daniel Lynch
Head of Senior School



Go back

CRICOS Provider No. 00626K